Nebraskaland July 2021

NEBRASKAland Magazine is dedicated to outstanding photography and informative writing with an engaging mix of articles and photos highlighting Nebraska’s outdoor activities, parklands, wildlife, history and people.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 3 of 63

4 Nebraskaland • July 2021 Any program that receives federal funding from the National Park Service, or the United States Fish and Wildlife Service prohibits unlawful discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, age, gender, marital status, national origin, age, disability or political affiliation. Any person who believes he or she has been discriminated against in any program, activity, facility, or service, should contact the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission, Lincoln, NE 402-471-0641, the Equal Opportunity Commission, Lincoln, NE 402-471-2024, TTY/TDD 402-471-4693; United States Fish Wildlife Service, Civil Rights Coordinator, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Arlington, VA 22203; Director, Equal Opportunity Program, U.S. Department of Interior, National Park Service, 1849 C Street NW, Mail Code 0008, Washington, D.C. 20240-0001. Nebraskaland Magazine Copyright 2021, all rights reserved. Nebraskaland is available in audio from the Nebraska Library Commission Talking Book and Braille Service, Suite 120, 1200 N St., Lincoln, NE 68508. 800-742-7691. Nebraskaland Magazine and the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission reserve the right to reject any advertising not in keeping with the agency mission. Rates: $18 for one year; $33 for two years; $44 for three years. Nebraska recipients must add appropriate sales tax. To subscribe call 1-800-NEBLAND (632-5263), or go online to: Published by the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission since 1926. The Commission is dedicated to the conservation and protection of all the state's natural resources and the people who use them. Magazine Staff Communications Director Christy Firestone Public Relations Manager Shawna Richter- Ryerson Editor Jeff Kurrus Associate Editor Jenny Nguyen-Wheatley Re gional Editors Eric Fowler, Julie Geiser, Justin Haag Contributing Editor Michael Forsberg Re gular Contributors Renae Blum, Chris Helzer, Chris Masada, Ryan Sparks, Gerry Steinauer Art Director Tim Reigert Graphic Designer Mel Severin Photo Librarian Jaclyn Cruikshank Vogt Circulation For address changes and questions about your subscription, call 800-632-5263 Advertising Sales Manager For advertising information contact Shane G. Gilster, 402-742-0125 Email: Administration Director Jim Douglas Deputy Director Tim McCoy Commissioners Chairman - Dan Kreitman, Wahoo Vice Chairman - Pat Berggren, Broken Bow 2nd Vice Chairman - Rick Brandt, Roca Robert Allen, Eustis Ken Curry, Columbus Donna Kush, Omaha Scott Cassels, Omaha John Hoggatt, Kearney Doug Zingula, Sidney Commission Offices Headquarters/Southeast District Office 2200 N. 33rd Street Lincoln, NE 68503 Phone 402-471-0641 Northeast District Office 2201 N. 13th St. Norfolk, NE 68701 Phone 402-370-3374 Southwest District Office 301 E. State Farm Rd. North Platte, NE 69101 Phone 308-535-8025 Northwest District Office East Hwy. 2, Box 725 Alliance, NE 69301 Phone 308-763-2940 Bassett Office 524 Panzer St., Box 508 Bassett, NE 68714 Phone 402-684-2921 Kearney Office 1617 First Ave. Kearney, NE 68847 Phone 308-865-5310 Ak-Sar-Ben Aquarium/Schramm Education Center 21502 W. Highway 31 Gretna, NE 68028 Phone 402-332-3901 Omaha Office 8495 Frederick Street, Omaha, NE 68124 Phone 402-595-2144 Tim Williams (Hall, Hamilton, York) 308-380-7331 Eric Javins (Adams, Clay, Webster) 402-902-2017 Pat George (Harlan, Franklin, Phelps) 308-920-2762 Ethan Teter (Buffalo, Kearney) 308-440-3847 SOUTHWEST (Includes counties covered) Roger Thompson (Lieutenant) 308-530-3097 NORTH SUB-DISTRICT Kevin Bergstrom (Sergeant) 308-520-1031 (Lincoln) Ray Dierking (Custer, Thomas, Blaine) 308-870-0322 Frank Miller (Cherry, Hooker) 402-389-0444 Greg Hesse 308-546-7464 (McPherson, Logan, Hooker, Cherry) Alex Hasenauer (Lincoln, Perkins) 308-660-4671 Brandon O'Neal 308-530-3157 (Lincoln, McPherson, Logan) SOUTH SUB-DISTRICT Brian Piernicky (Sergeant) 308-340-6627 (Red Willow, Frontier, Hayes, Hitchcock) Matt Andrews 308-746-2418 (Furnas, Gosper, Frontier, Red Willow) Owen Johnson (Dawson, Custer) 402-266-1759 Taylor Dixon (Dawson, Gosper) 308-217-2108 SOUTHEAST (Includes counties covered) Stacey Lewton (Lieutenant) 402-890-7140 EAST SUB-DISTRICT Heath Packett (Sergeant) 402-210-0888 (Cass) Russell Mort (Otoe, Johnson) 402-209-1506 Rich Berggren (Douglas) 402-619-1355 Dan Evasco (Sarpy) 402-616-5961 Mike Luben (Saunders, Butler) 402-443-6392 Bryan Adams 402-429-1924 (Nemaha, Pawnee, Richardson) WEST SUB-DISTRICT Scott Eveland (Sergeant) 402-853-3273 (Lancaster) Dina Barta (Lancaster), 402-890-6463 Dudley Sorensen (Lancaster) 402-937-3422 Bryce Streger (Seward, Saline) 402-646-0420 Trevor Stahlecker (Lancaster) 402-314-9641 Matt Seitz (Gage, Jefferson) 402-806-0915 Conservation Officers ADMINISTRATION (Lincoln) Craig Stover (Administrator) 402-471-5531 Duane Arp (Asst. Administrator) 402-471-5531 Travis Shepler (Asst. Administrator) 402-471-5531 Jeff Clauson (Asst. Administrator) 402-471-5531 NORTHWEST (Includes counties covered) Dan Kling (Lieutenant) 308-430-0572 EAST SUB-DISTRICT Sean Schultz (Sergeant) 308-672-1824 (Keith, Arthur) Jerod Hahn (Deuel, Garden, Grant) 308-520-5539 Keith Jadlowski (Keith, Deuel) 308-289-9580 Jaden Porter (Keith, Garden) 308-289-2274 WEST SUB-DISTRICT Sean McKeehan (Sergeant) 308-672-1824 (Kimball, Banner, Scotts Bluff) Kelsey Glodowski 308-763-8226 (Box Butte, Sheridan, Grant) Josh Widhelm (Morrill, Scotts Bluff) 308-279-9133 Jacob Stoinski (Sioux, Dawes) 308-615-9017 NORTHEAST (Includes counties covered) Tom Zimmer (Lieutenant) 402-649-8053 NORTH SUB-DISTRICT Jeff Jones (Sergeant) 402-762-5022 (Knox, Cedar) John Bauer (Holt, Boyd) 402-314-9257 Dale Davis (Keya Paha, Brown, Rock) 402-760-0712 Jonathan Andreasen 402-340-3981 (Madison, Pierce, Stanton) Mitch Johnson (Knox, Antelope, Pierce) 402-613-8612 SOUTH SUB-DISTRICT Cory Krause (Sergeant) 402-380-6410 (Cuming, Wayne, Stanton) Kyler Prochaska (Platte, Colfax) 402-830-8278 Nicholas Fix (Dixon, Dakota, Thurston) 402-508-0261 CENTRAL (Includes counties covered) Mike Thome (Lieutenant) 308-293-8746 NORTH SUB-DISTRICT Doug Pollard (Sergeant) 308-730-7050 (Loup, Garfield, Valley) Matt Brandt (Sherman, Howard) 308-202-0819 Daryl Teter (Howard, Greeley, Merrick) 308-440-1863 Mark Sullivan (Nance, Polk, Wheeler, Boone) 402-741-0636 Kyle Gaston (York, Polk, Hamilton) 402-719-6226 SOUTH SUB-DISTRICT Matt Taylor (Sergeant) 402-200-9597 (Thayer, Fillmore, Nuckolls) magazine

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Nebraskaland - Nebraskaland July 2021