NEBRASKAland

2017-Boating-Guide-web

NEBRASKAland Magazine is dedicated to outstanding photography and informative writing with an engaging mix of articles and photos highlighting Nebraska’s outdoor activities, parklands, wildlife, history and people.

Issue link: http://mag.outdoornebraska.gov/i/747018

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 3 of 23

4 | Boating Safety Info: 402-471-5462 REGISTRATION Length of Registration – Nebraska motorboat registrations are issued for three -year periods, expiring on Dec. 31 of the third year. No motorboat may be operated after Dec. 31 without the registration being renewed. Where to Get a New Registration – Registrations may be obtained only from the county treasurer in the boater's county of residence. Where to Renew a Registration – Registrations may be renewed with the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles at clickdmv.ne.gov or at owner's county treasurer's office. Duplicate – A duplicate certificate will be issued by the county treasurer on proof of loss for a $5 replacement fee and $4 issuing fee. Proof of Registration – The registration certificate must be available for law enforcement inspection at any time. What Must Be Registered – All vessels powered by any mechanical device (gas, electric or diesel) capable of propelling the vessel over any public or private waters of Nebraska must be registered. Exceptions: • vessels not powered by machinery at any time • motorboats registered in another state and housed in Nebraska for less than 60 consecutive days • vessels owned by any government or political sub division • racing type motorboats when competing in state-approved races and during trial runs 48 hours before or 48 hours after competition • vessels documented by U.S. Coast Guard Classifications and Fees – The fees in the table to the right are for the different classifications of vessels, including the length range in feet. * does not include $4 issuing fee or $5 Aquatic Invasive Species fee ** registering canoes and kayaks is optional NOTE: If an application for a motorboat not previously registered in Nebraska by the applicant is made after the start of a registration period, the license fee will be reduced by 1/36 for each full month of the registration period already expired, as of the date the boat was acquired. Change of Address – Anyone with a valid boat registration who changes his address shall, within 15 days, notify Game and Parks of the new address. REGISTRATION FEES CLASS LENGTH * FEE 1 ** shorter than 16 feet $23 2 at least 16 but less than 26 feet $46 3 at least 26 but less than 40 feet $67.50 4 40 feet and over $115 5 dealers/manufacturers for demonstration or testing $46

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of NEBRASKAland - 2017-Boating-Guide-web