NEBRASKAland July 2018

NEBRASKAland Magazine is dedicated to outstanding photography and informative writing with an engaging mix of articles and photos highlighting Nebraska’s outdoor activities, parklands, wildlife, history and people.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 4 of 59

JULY 2018 • NEBRASKAland 5 Director Jim Douglas Deputy Director Tim McCoy Commissioners Chairman - Dick Bell, Omaha Vice Chairman - Robert Allen, Eustis 2nd Vice Chairman - Dan Kreitman, Wahoo Rick Brandt, Roca Pat Berggren, Broken Bow Jim Ernst, Columbus Norris Marshall, Kearney Doug Zingula, Sidney Scott Cassels, Omaha COMMISSION OFFICES Headquarters/Southeast District Office 2200 N. 33rd Street Lincoln, NE 68503 Phone 402-471-0641 Northeast District Office 2201 N. 13th St. Norfolk, NE 68701 Phone 402-370-3374 Southwest District Office 301 E. State Farm Rd. North Platte, NE 69101 Phone 308-535-8025 Northwest District Office East Hwy. 2, Box 725 Alliance, NE 69301 Phone 308-763-2940 Bassett Office 524 Panzer St., Box 508 Bassett, NE 68714 Phone 402-684-2921 Kearney Office 1617 First Ave. Kearney, NE 68847 Phone 308-865-5310 Ak-Sar-Ben Aquarium 21502 W. Highway 31 Gretna, NE 68028 Phone 402-332-3901 Omaha Office 8495 Frederick Street, Omaha, NE 68124 Phone 402-595-2144 ADMINISTRATION (Lincoln) Craig Stover (Administrator) 402-471-5531 Duane Arp (Asst. Administrator) 402-471-5531 Jeff Clauson (Asst. Administrator) 402-471-5531 NORTHWEST (Includes counties covered) Jim Zimmerman (District Supt.) 308-641-6138 Sean McKeehan (Cheyenne, Morrill, Box Butte) 308-279-9133 Scott Brandt (Kimball, Banner, Scotts Bluff) 308-631-0663 Dan Kling (Sioux, Dawes) 308-430-0572 Kyler Prochaska (E 1/2 Dawes, N 1/2 Sheridan, W 1/2 Cherry) 308-430-3984 Terry Brentzel (Deuel, Garden, Grant) 308-458-7650 Frank Miller (Cherry, Hooker) 402-389-0444 NORTHEAST (Includes counties covered) Tom Zimmer (District Supt.) 402-649-8053 Dale Davis (Keya Paha, Brown, Rock) 402-760-0712 Jonathan Andreasen (Holt, Boyd) 402-340-3981 Kyle Gaston (Dodge, Colfax) 402-719-6226 Greg Hesse (Greeley, Wheeler, Boone, S 1/2 Antelope) 402-843-6567 Mitch Johnson (Knox, Antelope, Pierce) 402-613-8612 Jeff Jones (Knox, Cedar) 402-762-5022 Jon Reeves (S 1/2 Thurston, Burt, Washington) 402-889-8508 Andrew Heyer (Pierce, Madison, Stanton) 402-613-2241 Cory Krause (Cuming, Wayne, Stanton, Dodge) 402-380-6410 Steve Oberg (Colfax, Platte, Madison, Stanton, Nance) 402-910-3366 Owen Johnson (Dixon, Dakota, N 1/2 Thurston) 402-266-1759 Doug Pollard (Loup, Garfield, Valley) 308-730-7050 SOUTHWEST (Includes counties covered) Roger Thompson (District Supt.) 308-530-3097 Matt Brandt (Sherman, Howard) 308-202-0819 Tim Williams (Hall, Hamilton, Merrick) 308-380-7331 Pat George (Harlan, Franklin, Phelps) 308-920-2762 Matt Andrews (Gosper, Furnas, Frontier, Red Willow) 308-746-2418 Brian Piernicky (Red Willow, Frontier, Hayes, Hitchcock) 308-340-6627 John Lee (Hitchcock, Dundy, Chase, Hayes) 308-414-1432 Nicholas Fix (Keith, Perkins) 308-289-0427 Bryce Streger (Keith, Arthur) 308-289-1169 Sean Schultz (Keith) 308-760-0145 Brandon O'Neal (Lincoln, McPherson, Logan) 308-530-3157 Alex Hasenauer (Lincoln, McPherson, Logan) 308-660-4671 Dale Johnson (Kearney, Buffalo) 308-440-3847 Mike Thome (Dawson) 308-529-8146 Ray Dierking (Custer, Thomas, Blaine) 308-870-0322 Taylor Dixon (Dawson, N 1/2 Gosper, N 1/2 Phelps) 308-217-2108 SOUTHEAST (Includes counties covered) Levi Krause (District Supt.) 402-949-0593 Rich Berggren (Douglas) 402-619-1355 Dan Evasco (Sarpy) 402-616-5961 Heath Packett (Cass) 402-210-0888 Russell Mort (Otoe, Johnson) 402-209-1506 William Krause (Nemaha, Richardson, Pawnee) 402-274-8063 Matt Taylor (Thayer, Fillmore, Jefferson) 402-200-9597 Dan Zuehlke (Gage, Saline) 402-806-9084 Dina Barta (Lancaster) 402-890-6463 Dudley Sorensen (Lancaster, York) 402-937-3422 Travis Shepler (Lancaster) 402-613-2312 Trevor Stahlecker (Lancaster) 402-314-9641 Stacey Lewton (Lancaster, Seward) 402-890-7140 Mike Luben (Saunders, Butler, Polk) 402-443-6392 Communications Director Christy Firestone Editor Jeff Kurrus Art Director Tim Reigert Associate Editor Jenny Nguyen-Wheatley Re gional Editors Eric Fowler, Julie Geiser, Justin Haag Contributing Editor Michael Forsberg Re gular Contributors Renae Blum, Chris Helzer, Chris Masada, Gerry Steinauer Photo Librarian Jaclyn Cruikshank Vogt Circulation Donna Robinson For address changes and questions about your subscription, e-mail donna.robinson@ or call 800-632-5263 Advertising Sales Manager For advertising information contact Shane G. Gilster, 402-742-0125 Email: CONSERVATION OFFICERS ADMINISTRATION MAGAZINE STAFF COM COM CO COM CO COM COM COM COM CO COM COM COM COM COM OM OMMIS MIS IS IS MIS IS MIS IS MIS MIS MIS MIS MIS MIS MIS MIS MIS MIS MIS MIS MIS M SIO SIO SIO SIO SIO SIO SIO SIO SIO SIO SIO SIO SIO SIO SIO SIO SIO SIO SI S N O N O O N O N O N O N O N O N O N O N O N O N O N O N O N O N O N O N FFI FFI FF FFI FFI FFI FF FFI FFI FFI FFI FFI FFI FFI FFI FFI FF CES CES CES CES CES CES CES CES CES CES CES CES CES CES CES CES CES CES CES COMMISSION OFFICES NEBRASKAland Magazine Copyright 2018, all rights reserved. NEBRASKAland is available in audio from the Nebraska Library Commission Talking Book and Braille Service, Suite 120, 1200 N St., Lincoln, NE 68508. 800-742-7691. NEBRASKAland Magazine and the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission reserve the right to reject any advertising not in keeping with the agency mission. Rates: $18 for one year; $33 for two years; $44 for three years. Nebraska recipients must add appropriate sales tax. To subscribe call 1-800-NEBLAND (632-5263), or go online to: NebraskalandMagazine. com. NEBRASKAland Magazine Send your comments to: Jeff Kurrus, Editor NEBRASKAland Mag azine P.O. Box 30370 Lincoln, NE 68503 or e-mail Please include your postal address and telephone number. Letters may be condensed and edited. Photographs are also welcome. Any program that receives federal funding from the National Park Service, or the United States Fish and Wildlife Service prohibits unlawful discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, age, gender, marital status, national origin, age, disability or political affiliation. Any person who believes he or she has been discriminated against in any program, activity, facility, or service, should contact the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission, Lincoln, NE 402-471-0641, the Equal Opportunity Commission, Lincoln, NE 402-471-2024, TTY/TDD 402-471-4693; United States Fish Wildlife Service, Civil Rights Coordinator, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Arlington, VA 22203; Director, Equal Opportunity Program, U.S. Department of Interior, National Park Service, 1849 C Street NW, Mail Code 0008, Washington, D.C. 20240-0001. Starr Lehl of Minatare took this photo on horseback at Buffalo Creek Wildlife Management Area in Scotts Bluff County. Julie Hudson of Ralston took this photo of a pelican at Riverside Lakes, Waterloo. Joyce Voigt from Holdrege spotted this swallowtail butterfly in early spring at Methodist Cove in Harlan County.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Nebraskaland - NEBRASKAland July 2018